## 22.—Legislatures and Premiers of Alberta 1935-57 and Ministry as at Mar. 31, 1957 Legislatures 1935-57

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952 June 29, 1955	8th 9th 10th 11th 112th 13th 13th	9 4 5 5 3	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953 Aug. 17, 1955	Feb. 16, 1946 July 7, 1946 July 16, 1945 June 28, 1955 May 12, 1955

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1935-57 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1934 under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry sworn in Sept. 3, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry sworn in May 31, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning. <sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not spired at Mar, 31, 1957.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election June 29, 1955: 37 Social Credit, 15 Liberals, 3 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Liberal Conservative, 1 Coalition, 1 Independent Social Credit, 1 Independent, 5

Norg. - See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Mines and Minerals, and Attorney General Minister of Education Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Public Works. Minister of Health. Minister of Economic Affairs. Minister of Economic Affairs. Minister of Municipal Affairs and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Agriculture. Minister of Industries and Labour. Minister of Industries and Highways. Provincial Treasurer. Minister without Portfolio.	Hon. Ernest C. Manning.  Hon. Anders O. Aalborg. Hon. N. A. Willmore. Hon. James Hartley Hon. W. W. Cross. Hon. R. D. Jorgenson. Hon. A. R. Patrick. Hon. A. Leped J. Hooke. Hon. Leonard C. Halmrast. Hon. R. Reierson. Hon. Gordon E. Taylor. Hon. F. C. Coleoree.	Sept. 3, 1935 Sept. 9, 1952 Nov. 10, 1953 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 3, 1935 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 3, 1953 Apr. 20, 1945 Jan. 3, 1953 Dec. 27, 1950 Dec. 23, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955	(May 31, 1943 Sept. 16, 1952 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 9, 1952 Aug. 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 Aug. 2, 1955 (May 1, 1957 Aug. 2, 1958 Aug. 2, 1958

## Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable Frank Mackenzie Ross, C.M.G., M.C., LL.D., Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at Mar. 31, 1957, was commissioned to office Oct. 3, 1955. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 98.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 52 members.

Each Member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$3,400 and \$1,000 for expenses. There is also paid to each Member a living allowance of \$15 for each day's attendance at the session and for each Saturday, Sunday or holiday that intervenes between two sittings of the House; the allowance of \$15 in any session is not paid in respect of more than 40 days. Each Member also receives an allowance of 25 cents per mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest